Oscar Awards

Oscar Awards Home

Best Picture
Best Actor
Best Actress
Best Supporting Actor
Best Supporting Actress
Best Animated Feature
Best Art Direction
Best Cinematography
Costume Design
Documentary Feature
Documentary Short Subject
Film Editing
Best Foreign Language Film
Original Music Score
Best Song
Animated Short Film
Live Action Short Film
Sound Effects Editing
Visual Effects
Writing Adapted Screenplay
Writing Original Screenplay
Academy Juvenile Award
Academy Honorary Award
Academy Special Achievement Award
The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award
The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award is awarded periodically (although not every year) at the Academy Award ceremonies for outstanding contributions to humanitarian causes. It is named after screen actor Jean Hersholt, who served as the president of the Motion Picture Relief Fund for eighteen years. The award trophy is an "Oscar" statuette. Recipients have included producers, directors, writers, and actors.

List of Winners

Year Winner
1956 Y. Frank Freeman
1957 Samuel Goldwyn
1959 Bob Hope
1960 Sol Lesser
1961 George Seaton
1962 Steve Broidy
1965 Edmond L. DePatie
1966 George Bagnall
1967 Gregory Peck
1968 Martha Raye
1969 George Jessel
1970 Frank Sinatra
1972 Rosalind Russell
1973 Lew Wasserman
1974 Arthur B. Krim
1975 Dr. Jules C. Stein
1977 Charlton Heston
1978 Leo Jaffe
1979 Robert Benjamin
1981 Danny Kaye
1982 Walter Mirisch
1983 M.J. Frankovich
1984 David L. Wolper
1985 Charles 'Buddy' Rogers
1989 Howard W. Koch
1992 Audrey Hepburn, Elizabeth Taylor
1993 Paul Newman
1994 Quincy Jones
2001 Arthur Hiller
2005 Roger Mayer
2007 Sherry Lansing
2009 Jerry Lewis