Oscar Awards

Oscar Awards Home

Best Picture
Best Actor
Best Actress
Best Supporting Actor
Best Supporting Actress
Best Animated Feature
Best Art Direction
Best Cinematography
Costume Design
Documentary Feature
Documentary Short Subject
Film Editing
Best Foreign Language Film
Original Music Score
Best Song
Animated Short Film
Live Action Short Film
Sound Effects Editing
Visual Effects
Writing Adapted Screenplay
Writing Original Screenplay
Academy Juvenile Award
Academy Honorary Award
Academy Special Achievement Award
The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award
The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award

The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award

The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award is awarded periodically (although not every year) at the Academy Awards ceremonies to "Creative producers, whose bodies of work reflect a consistently high quality of motion picture production." The award is named for Irving Thalberg, legendary head of the Production Division of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, who developed the company's reputation for sophisticated films. The trophy for award recipients is in the form of a bust of Thalberg rather than the familiar "Oscar" statuette.

List of Winners

Year Actor
1937 Darryl F. Zanuck
1938 Hal B. Wallis
1939 David O. Selznick
1940 none
1941 Walt Disney, RCA Manufacturing Co.
1942 Sidney Franklin
1943 Hal B. Wallis
1944 Darryl F. Zanuck
1945 none
1946 Samuel Goldwyn
1947 none
1948 Jerry Wald
1949 none
1950 Darryl F. Zanuck
1951 Arthur Freed
1952 Cecil B. DeMille
1953 George Stevens
1954 none
1955 none
1956 Buddy Adler
1957 none
1958 Jack L. Warner
1959 none
1960 none
1961 Stanley Kramer
1962 none
1963 Sam Spiegel
1964 none
1965 William Wyler
1966 Robert Wise
1967 Alfred Hitchcock
1968 none
1969 none
1970 Ingmar Bergman
1971 none
1972 none
1973 Lawrence Weingarten
1974 none
1975 Mervyn LeRoy
1976 Pandro S. Berman
1977 Walter Mirisch
1978 none
1979 Ray Stark
1980 none
1981 Albert R. Broccoli
1982 none
1983 none
1984 none
1985 none
1986 Steven Spielberg
1987 Billy Wilder
1988 none
1989 none
1990 David Brown and Richard D. Zanuck
1991 George Lucas
1992 none
1993 none
1994 Clint Eastwood
1995 none
1996 Saul Zaentz
1997 none
1998 Norman Jewison
1999 Warren Beatty
2000 Dino De Laurentiis
2001 none
2002 none
2003 none
2004 none
2005 none
2006 none
2007 none
2008 none